Green Park Gateway

May 7, 2021

Dear Blowing Rock Homeowners and Town Council,

Our neighbors in Green Park, Green Hill and throughout the Village have raised $282,000 to preserve the south gateway on Highway 321 into Blowing Rock. They were able to work out a deal with Mr. Winkler who had approval for a larger subdivision on the tract. This alternative preserves greenspace, the natural entrance to the Village and reduces the size of the subdivision and traffic on Green Hill. This property is also in the watershed for the Yadkin River so it is not only offers a visual benefit, but an environmental benefit.

This project benefits our entire community and is consistent with our strategic priorities:
Protect our Vibrant Village
Protect our Residential Economy
Protect our Neighborhoods
Our board of directors believes this project represents the goals in our Advocacy Plan and more importantly the generosity and importance of neighborhoods and homeowners to the Village.

The Town Council must accept the gift of the land and agree to preserve the tract as a permanent greenspace. Please encourage the Town Council to support this proposal at their upcoming meeting on May 11th. You can email the council members using their emails below.

Mayor Charlie Sellers – csellers@tobr.us

Mayor Pro-Tem Sue Sweeting – ssweeting@tobr.us

Councilman Albert Yount – ayount@tobr.us

Councilman Doug Matheson – dmatheson@tobr.us

Councilman David Harwood – dharwood@tobr.us

Councilwoman Virginia Powell – vpowell@tobr.us

We want to express our thanks to the donors who are committed to making a perpetual investment in our Village.

Sincerely,

Tim Gupton
President

Twitter
Facebook
Website

Posted in Posts.